This Thing Called Grace…

I am overwhelmed by the positive responses, love and support to my first blog post. 

There truly is so much power and healing in sharing yourself with others. It is only by the Grace of God that I am in recovery. 

You now can see strength and courage but what I have felt was shame and embarrassment. And what saved me is this thing called Grace. 

******************************

What does the Bible say about SHAME 1Corinthians 10:13 No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

  
What the Bible says about GRACE           2Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.



*****************************

While religion was an important part of my childhood, as I hit my late teens it was not important to me. And my faith became quiet. As I grew older, I felt something was missing in my life. After I got divorced in 2011, I began seeking for what was missing. 

I didn’t know at the time but what I was lacking was a relationship with God. 

I went Church Shopping. I did a few Bible studies but didn’t click with the people in the group nor did I feel I fit into the Church. But I kept seeking. I found a Church home in 2014. I loved what they were teaching. It’s what I was looking for. They were teaching the Bible. They encouraged to join a group and study together. Which is what I did.

I was walking the path that God had planned for me. Or so I thought. 

In 2015, smoke and mirrors covered the truth of the path I was on. I was convinced this was part of Gods plan. And then life happened and the man I was with changed in what seemed like a second. I ignored the warning signs and got caught up in his addiction. Trying to save him from himself became my job. 

Codependent much? 

When I finally hit my bottom, I not only walked away, I ran. 

The Grace and love that God has shown me from friends and family walking along side me during this time brings me to my knees.

I can never repay the countless people who knowing and unknowingly supported me. But what I can do, is share my story. I can celebrate my recovery. I can shine my light bright. So bright that I shine on someone else’s darkness. 

4 thoughts on “This Thing Called Grace…”

  1. I too have had the experience of Churchh shopping, and interesting to me, is I found a home in a religion/church not creedal based. It is truly about “doing” not “believing”…however you are motivated to ACT as a good person, as Jesus, that is not the focus, but actually your actions.
    I am so glad you are blogging. That you are feelilng the support. I must admit, I too have my skeletons in my closet and am not yet to share with EVERYONE, only those who are closest to me BC I am ashamed…..I find strength in your words, I find comfort and inspiration that someday I too will be able to not feel the shame and guilt of my actions.

    Love!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh trust me there is more that I may not ever share over my life.

      The shame that I felt over what happened last year kept me stuck in that place. Even at the time looking I said to myself, that it was crazy. Why was I trying so hard to hold on to something that was so short lived. The good times were wonderful and exactly what I wanted. I was trying so hard to get back to that place but I could not fight his demons. That is his fight not mine.

      God does NOT give us what we can’t handle.

      God loves his daughters. He loves us.
      Forgiveness is key, I’m working on that.
      Much love!!!

      Like

  2. So glad to see you blogging and seeking after the Lord. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. Yeah, the ole skeletons in the closet. It took me a great deal of time to deal with them. Of course, I tried to fix them myself at first. One of my biggest problems was drugs and alcohol. I kept relapsing. Now, I take things one day at a time. I begin each day asking God to keep me away from drugs and alcohol today. I thank Him each night for keeping me clean and sober another day. I am currently enrolled at Colorado Christian University online for completion of my bachelor’s degree in psychology. I am planning a new career as an addictions counselor, focusing primarily on adolescents and young adults. I look forward to hearing more from you in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

