This place called serenity…

According to the WebstersDictionary serenity means clear, free of storms or unpleasant change, shining bright and steady. 

Synonyms include calm, peaceful, restful, quiet, still, tranquil. 

What calm, peaceful, clear, shining bright means to me may mean something different to you. 

I have calm in my life. When it comes to the everyday stuff. 

I have peace in my home again. I no longer have to look around for my ex boyfriend As I come and go. No longer feel that fear when my phone rings or I get a text message. I don’t worry about my boys walking to and from school and see him. I don’t worry that he’ll show up to the high school football game because he knows I would be there. I don’t have to think about him standing by my mailbox. 

The days ahead look clear. As long as I stay on track. Keep working my program. Keep being honest with myself. Keep my head up. 

And I will keep shining bright. Sharing my story so that I can shine my light on someone else’s darkness. 

I read the Serenity Prayer every morning.  It starts my day off in the right mind set. Reminding me that some things are how they are supposed to be and that its my responsibility to change things I can and understand which is which. To take things one day at a time. Understanding hard days leads me to good ones. That God is in control and not me. And one day, in Gods timing I will be in paradise with the Lord. 

Serenity Prayer

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time; Enjoying one moment at a time; Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace; Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it; Trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His Will; That I may be reasonably happy in this life and supremely happy with Him Forever in the next. Amen.

I am well on my way to a clear, free of storms or unpleasant change, shining bright, steady, calm, peaceful, restful, quiet, still, tranquil life. Come join me, the best is yet to be. 

My journey to serenity continues…

4 thoughts on “This place called serenity…”

Leave a Reply

