A  VERY Thankful Heart…

It’s funny how God answers prayers differently than expected but answered all the same. 

Last night there was a beautiful sky at sunset. I couldn’t see the sun from where I was but I loved the colors and clouds in the sky. 

I didn’t have anyplace to go in a hurry so I pulled over and with much amazement looked at the different colors and cloud formations. 

I thanked God for the beautiful sky and was reminded how GREAT God is. Then thought and prayed about court today. I was very anxious about having to see my ex boyfriend. So I said, please Lord I need you. I can’t bear the thought of seeing him. It’s hurts my heart to have to go to court and see him. I got a sense that he wasn’t going to be transported. But kind of brushed it off as wishful thinking. 

My ex is currently in jail (unrelated to me) and would have needed to be transferred to attend court. I am on the state notification system so am called when his custody status changes. I hadn’t gotten a call yet. Weird I thought. He should have been transferred by now. 

This morning I checked the service to make sure I didn’t miss anything and he was still in jail 2 1/2 hours away. Wonder what that means. 

One of my friends called me on the way to court and said ‘Mar, God doesn’t give us what we can’t handle. You got this’

I had an attorney to come to court with me. 

So I go to the attorney’s office and she tells me that she has another case in the next courtroom at the same time and we would just have to deal with the timing of the 2 cases. 

The other case was called first and she told me to just tell the judge and she will hold the case. 

My case was called. I went in the empty courtroom and sat down and said, my attorney is in courtroom B. The judge said, you don’t need an attorney for this. It’s ridiculous. We are going to start without her. 

‘Ok’ I said. ‘Is he here?’

‘No, we are going to call him.’ She said. She could see the relief on my face. 

He got on the phone and and the Judge recapped his motion to dissolve and the reason. She then asked me if I wanted it dissolved and I said ‘No, I don’t want the protective order dissolved’ 

‘Then we are done. motion denied’ 

Both my prayers were answered. I didn’t have to see him today and my protective order remains in place. 

It is with a VERY thankful heart I pray these words from the Bible:

1 Thessalonians 5:18
Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Philippians 4:6
Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Psalm 107:1
Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever!



This is me.   I’m Mar and I am a grateful believer in Jesus Christ and I struggle with codependency. 

And this is what a very thankful heart looks like. 

And now I’m off to meet with my sponsor and my Celebrate Recovery Meeting. 

My journey to serenity continues… 

9 thoughts on “A  VERY Thankful Heart…”

  1. Hooray! 😀 Hello Mar! Love your smile and bright eyes. So happy for you and a little in awe of the power of faith. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, beautiful… just beautiful! I am rejoicing with you for God’s mercy and faithfulness.
    I try to remind myself that my identity is who I am in Christ.

    Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

    Philippians 3:13-14

    with joy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

