Quote from Muhammad Ali that is spot on during recovery (for me anyway) 

A few months back a did a Facebook Video challenge where for 7 days you posted something that was done in one take and that you were genuine. During that challenge I ‘met’ someone else also in recovery. And since that challenge, he inspires me everyday by his posts and videos. Please check out Austin and his incredible website full of recovery stories and support.  http://sober-evolution.com/about/ 

Austins video today was this quote from Muhammad Ali. How timely this quote is for me. One I had not heard before. ‘I hated every minute of training. But I said….don’t quit, suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion’ 

As I work on my step 4, at times I have been distracted by ghosts from my past during other parts of my day. Yesterday was one of those days. 

Starting was the hardest part of step 4, but knowing what is coming for me on the other side of step 4 makes doing the hard work worth doing it. 

I wouldn’t say that I hate this part of the process but it’s hard for sure. And it’s been a long time coming. 

Knowing that Muhammad Ali said that he hated every minute of training is very interesting to me. A champion is full of determination and drive and technique. But those qualities are what pushes you to the next level. Pushes you to be the best. Keeps you going when you are distracted. 

 
I know what I think is coming for me on the other side of step 4, but I’m sure it pales in comparison to what God has prepared for me! 

I still carry my 24 hour token with me everywhere I go, it reminds me of the commitment I made to myself 116 days ago. 

I’m worth the hard work because the Mar on the other side of step 4 is amazing. 

My journey to serenity continues…

10 thoughts on “Quote from Muhammad Ali that is spot on during recovery (for me anyway) ”

Leave a Reply

