Step 1

Wanted to start to share parts the materials from the Celebrate Recovery program. Things that resonated with me. 

The best place to start is the beginning with the first step. 

 Step 1 

We admitted we were powerless over our addictons and compulsive behaviors, that our lives have become unmanageable. 

                    Step 1 is about being in denial.   

D disables our feelings
E energy lost
N negates growth
I isolates us from God
A alienates us from our relationships 
L lengthens our pain 

Being in denial last year kept me stuck in the most unhealthy relationship I’ve ever been in. I was in denial about what was going on and I lied to myself and everyone else. I talked about some things because I can’t hide it when I’m upset about something. But I didn’t share or I down played the worst of the worst. 

Being in denial absolutely disabled my feelings, I spent tons of energy in the wrong places, my personal growth stopped. I thought I was listening to God but was being pulled further and further away from Him. My other relationships were adversely harmed. And I stayed far too long.

BUT in recovery, I now know that depth of my denial and that I am powerless over codependency and my life was so unmanageable. 

My journey to serenity continues…

3 thoughts on “Step 1”

Leave a Reply

