Because of His Grace and for His glory! 

Can you tell the difference between these two pictures???   
The picture on the left was taken on 7.18.15. That girl had just made the most codependent decision that she could make. And as a result, her kids moved out of the house. You can see what was left a blackened eye. That girl is broken. That girl is afraid. That girl is empty. That girl is desperate for what she thought she had. That girl was thinking about ending it all. That girl could not believe what is happening to her life because of a relationship with someone she cared so much about. That girl was in the middle of chaos and had not hit bottom yet. She wants nothing more than to run away from what’s going on but also is trying to keep it all together. 

The picture on the right was taken on 8.2.16. That girl is working a recovery program. That girl is healing parts of her heart that have been in the dark for so long that she didn’t even realize she still hurt. That girl knows God is in control and worry does not change outcome. That girl knows to accept the things you can not change. That girl knows to change the things that you can. And That girl prays for the wisdom to know the difference. That girl is being real and genuine. That girl has grown in leaps and bounds. That girl is really awesome and she is going to do great things by sharing her recovery story! 

That girl is me. And today I feel like a completely different person than I was a year ago and it’s all because of His grace and for His glory that share my story of what God has done for me. 

My journey to serenity continues…

11 Comments

  1. You lift me up!! I love the healing and transformative power of Christ. He is not only real, but His power to heal all things is real! You are living proof of that. Thank you for sharing your story and helping others to see that they too can have the healing power you’ve been able to enjoy. One day at a time. It makes a big difference over the long haul 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. What’s interesting to me now is to realize the story never truly ends. When you finish your program you’re really only starting. The twelfth step is to share what you have with others. I was so excited to do that but nothing happened for a long time. Then it slowly started and now it’s like a strong flowing river. It’s amazing to see God’s hand as he places people in your path because you are uniquely prepared to help them. I still feel inadequately prepared but when I pray for help before talking to a sponsee the spirit reminds me that God is the healer and I am His hands and that He will guide me. All I have to do is trust Him. And I do 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

