So glad last week is in the rear window…

I had a very awful week at work. I was moved to a new position. I’ve been with the company for 5 years and while I already knew the basics I didn’t know all of the steps to do it. 

I found myself being put on a treadmill at the speed of 10 and I just had to jump on and do it. Big leaning curve and no time to fully understand it, just do it. 

The first 3 weeks were ok, I kinda liked it even. But week 4 was awful. I worked a TON of hours and was getting me nowhere fast. I was exhausted and I made a bunch of mistakes because I missed a step that I either wasn’t told about or was but didn’t understand. 

I knew early in the week that I was in trouble and the treadmill was going faster than I was. 

 
Being a recovering codependent my first response was to try and figure it out myself. But I quickly raised my hard and asked for help. Help was offered but in the end, no real help happened. 
I cried everyday last week. I went to the managers everyday last week crying that I just didn’t know what I am doing. 

I don’t know if this change was a good idea or not. I need more training and time but neither of those things seem like they are happening. 

I am frustrated with the job itself, the managers and myself. Several people before me, gave up and ended up walking out. I completely understand why they walked out, because if I could I would. 

Praying that next week is better. I’m afraid that the managers are looking to replace me. I told them not to give up on me. Feeling terrible. 

7 thoughts on “So glad last week is in the rear window…”

  1. Sorry to hear about your rough week. Major challenges are tough and I totally get what you mean about trying to fix it yourself. It’s great that you’re able to see that. That must feel like a major win right there (even if you’re feeling like the world is running you over with a steamroller). Hang in there. I’ll say a prayer for you. I hope you feel better. I hope you feel some confidence. I hope your manager can find a mentor for you to work with to better understand your job and get some of the training you’re looking for.

    Best wishes!
    Mike

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It was a bit late, we were at the fair and then something happened that triggered resentment and I was fighting being prideful and letting it go and asking God to take it from me. Classic human vs God. Eventually I realized my childishness and went to bed. I made amends in the morning. It was a good reminder that I still need to practice the basics and hold true to my bottom lines and my 10-12 steps.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you find a way out of this stressful situation, it felt a bit weird with you not ending on a positive! But hey you are human and you’re giving it your best shot. I don’t know what others have said as can’t read comments before I post my own so this is just my view not influenced by anyone else’s. Remember that boat?? You’re in a rough sea at the moment, frantically treading water, but you will find the life raft I am certain, shout a bit louder for help – you cant be expected to make your own raft with a few match sticks and string, you need more. If the people on the life raft didn’t speak your language or didn’t see you use the whistle on your life vest – if they throw you a couple of barrels and some planks don’t forget to ask how to put it together without tools! You get what I’m saying – tell them what you need, don’t dwell on others failures that’s a reflection on their ability not yours – co-dependent no more! You can do this X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

