Open Letter to My BFF

My BFF and I have know each other for just over 16 years now. 

Our kids went to the same school and we were on the PTA together. We quickly got each other. We were both stay at home moms. We really didn’t fit the mold of plays groups and mommy and me this or that. 

We would talk everyday on the phone about everything and about nothing. 

We went to jazzersize together. And took an American Sign Language class together at the community center. And we worked together 2 summers I think it was at a kids summer day camp. 

She was with me through many days of deciding to leave my ex husband. And I was with her when her daughter was acting out. 

We have shared many laughs and many tears. 

I was with her when waiting for what could be scary test results and she was with me when my mom passed away. 

She was with me when I thought is was a great idea to give my now ex boyfriend a chance when no one else would. And she was with me when I finally figured out that it was the worst idea ever and I was afraid.

I was with her when her mother moved in……and moved out. 

We’ve made some good decisions and supported each other and some not so good decisions and supported each other. 

She’s that friend that would hold your hair while you were throwing up. And wipe your tears and say you are looked beautiful. 

 All these years, she has loved me anyway. She knows just about all my crap and loves me anyway. 

I got to teach her recovery lingo. And share with her what I’ve learned and helped her understand some of her own feelings and that is was totally normal. 

I’ve told her for years that she is better than family and is my sister my choice because we both have difficult sisters and we no longer talk to.  

I don’t know where I’d be without her and I am so very grateful to have her in my life. Always a phone call or text message away. 

Everyone needs a friend like her! 

you + me = BFF’s 4ever

XXOO

Continue on this ride with me, the best is yet to be. 

This girls journey to serenity continues…

Leave a Reply

