Today I Choose…

This post is inspired from a divotional we read during my step meeting a few days ago and it’s also inspired by the work I’ve done in step study.  

Today I choose to be present, no matter the season. To just take what today has to offer. 

 
Today I choose to admit I am powerless to control my addictions and unhealthy behaviors. 

Today I choose to feel and not hide or run from feelings but FEEL them. 

Today I choose to grow. To work on my recovery by reading the bible or Celebrate Recovery materials, by talking with others and sharing my story or by writing. To use my recovery tool box and to keep adding to it. 

Today I choose to embrace Gods grace love and light that he shines on the truth. 

Today I choose to be in relationships. Relationship with God and with others becomes I know that addiction and unhealthy behaviors keeps me isolated.

Today I choose to step out of the false protection of denial, pain, shame and guilt. 

Today I choose to get out of my own way and allow Gods plan to play out. 

Today I choose not to fall back on old ‘easy’ coping skills but choose to pick up a new one instead. 

Today I choose to handle pain and disappointment differently. 

Today I choose to be humble and grateful. 

Today I choose to not buy into the what if’s and if onlys that stir up.  

Today I choose not to allow resentment to grow and steal my joy but rather dig deep to understand the root of those feelings and talk about it. 

Today I choose to remember I am never alone. 

Today I choose to fill myself up with what I love and what brings me joy. 

Today I choose to be close to God. To keep seeking Him.

Today I choose to continue to examine my life and admit what areas are unmanageable. 

Today I choose to believe that God can restore me to sanity. 

Today I choose hope. 

Today I choose to be willing and open to change. 

Today I choose not to quit. 

Today I choose to keep walking in the right direction. 

 Today I choose to be strong. 

Today I choose to have realistic expectations of others and of myself. 

Today I choose a new way of life. 

Today I choose to trust. To trust God, to trust others and to trust myself. 

Today I choose to let go of what doesn’t serve me.

Today I choose to ask for help. Ask God. Ask my sponsor. Ask a trusted friend. 

Today I choose to enjoy the freedom that recovery offers to me. 

Today I choose the road less traveled and make the harder choice of the high road. 

Today I choose to keep putting one foot in front of the other. One day at a time. 

Today I choose to remember my past does not define me. 

Today I choose to remember that I am enough. 

Today I choose to look at the person in the mirror with love. 

Today I choose to ask for what I need. 

Today I choose to dance in the rain. 

Today I choose love. And to love me first. 

My Joureny to Serenity continues…

I painted the picture used in this post. 

Leave a Reply

